Previous Laureates

The Otto Warburg Medal was awarded for the first time on 8th October, 1963 on the occasion of the 80th birthday of Otto Warburg. It honours scientists who have contributed important work in the field of biological chemistry. The prize is awarded annually as a bronze medal on the occasion of a GBM meeting.

Stefanie Dimmeler

The Otto Warburg Medal 2022

"In recognition of her pioneering work in the field of pathophysiological mechanisms of cardiovascular diseases and new approaches to the therapy"

Petra Schwille

The Otto Warburg Medal 2021

"In recognition of her pioneering work in the field of reconstructing cellular processes in simplified functional systems"

Patrick Cramer

The Otto Warburg Medal 2020

"for his innovative research on transcription and regulation of genes."

Marina Rodnina

The Otto Warburg Medal 2019

"for her innovative research on understanding the structure and function of ribosomes"

Peter Hegemann

The Otto Warburg Medal 2018

"for his pioneering research in the field of the light-induced ion channels"

Stefan Jentsch

The Otto Warburg Medal 2017

"posthumously for his research on the protein ubiquitin and its role as a molecular switch in a variety of cellular processes"

Emmanuelle Charpentier

The Otto Warburg Medal 2016

"for the development of the CRISPR-Cas9-system as a tool for the editing of genetic material and for further research on the functions of genes"

Nikolaus Pfanner

The Otto Warburg Medal 2015

"for his seminal discoveries of how proteins are transported across the mitochondrial membranes"

Rudolf Jaenisch

The Otto Warburg Medal 2014

"for his groundbreaking work in the field of epigenetic regulation of gene expression in mammalian development and disease"

Randy Schekman

The Otto Warburg Medal 2013

"for his research on the regulation of protein transport processes in cells"



Nobel Laureates

Warburg Award Winners having received the Nobel Prize:

Hans Adolf Krebs (1953)
Max Perutz (1962)
Feodor Lynen (1964)
Robert Huber (1988)
Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard (1995)
Günter Blobel (1999)
Kurt Wüthrich (2002)
Randy Schekman (2013)
James Rothman (2013)
Emmanuelle Charpentier (2020)

While in the case of Krebs and Perutz the jurors applied a different procedure, the rule to-day is: Anyone who has already received the Nobel Prize will not be nominated for the Warburg Medal.