Previous Laureates

Carl Martius

The Otto Warburg Medal 1969
(together with Hans Adolf Krebs)

Michael Sela

The Otto Warburg Medal 1968

Kurt Mothes

The Otto Warburg Medal 1965

Feodor Lynen

The Otto Warburg Medal 1963



Nobel Laureates

Warburg Award Winners having received the Nobel Prize:

Hans Adolf Krebs (1953)
Max Perutz (1962)
Feodor Lynen (1964)
Robert Huber (1988)
Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard (1995)
Günter Blobel (1999)
Kurt Wüthrich (2002)
Randy Schekman (2013)
James Rothman (2013)
Emmanuelle Charpentier (2020)

While in the case of Krebs and Perutz the jurors applied a different procedure, the rule to-day is: Anyone who has already received the Nobel Prize will not be nominated for the Warburg Medal.